Weston, Oregon History

Looking Back At Weston History

The old Thomas and Ruckles Road across the Blue Mountains, the route of travel from Walla Walla to Baker City and the Boise mines, crossed Pine Creek about a mile below the present town of Weston. At that point a stage station was established as early as 1863, and a hotel was kept by Taylor Green as a stopping place for teamsters, packers, emigrants and travelers. In the spring of 1866 T.T. Lieuallen bought the claim of a man who had settled on a portion of the town site. The little shanty he had built Lieuallen used for a chicken house, and erected for himself a good farm residence.

Businesses start up in Weston

In the fall of 1868 he persuaded a man named Abell, who was living at Richards Station, near the present town of Centerville, to come to this place and open a store. Lieuallen donated the ground for his building and gave him a cash bonus. In a few months his goods were taken by the sheriff.

Jesse Melton bought the little shanty Abel had built, and converted it into a hotel; it is now used for a butcher shop. Asberry Lieuallen had built a little house for a dwelling, and in the spring of 1869, T.T. Lieuallen bought it and placed in it a stock of goods. It is now used for a smoke house by S.A. John. A school house was built that year on the ground now occupied by their fine edifice; the old building now forms part of a saloon and billiard hall.

A Name for the town and a new Post Office

With one dwelling, a shanty hotel, small store and a school house, Mr. Lieuallen called upon his neighbors to baptized the embryo city. About a dozen of them met at his store one day and the question of a name was brought up. He had selected Westen, and that name received about two-thirds of the votes, some of them favoring Prineville, Sparta, and McMinnville. The spelling of the name Westen was after Mr. Lieuallen’s original way of doing things, but it was inadvertently spelled with an “o” in a petition to the postal department that fall, and thus it became and remains Weston.

When a post office was secured and located in Lieuallen’s store, the stage road was changed to run through the village, and thus it became a regular station. Another store was added that year by John White and E.D. Seeley. Its history for the next few years is one of a steady and permanent growth both in business and population. In 1874 it began to covet the county seat, and endeavored to secure it, without success. Its efforts to procure a division of the county have already been given. The people of Weston are confident when that is accomplished the voters will locate the seat of justice with them. Should such a result not follow, the business of Weston is upon too firm a footing and improvements are too far advanced for the place to suffer or be materially retarded in its growth thereby.

Weston incorporated in 1878

By act of October 19, 1878, Weston was incorporated, with boundaries “commencing at the northwest corner of May’s addition to the town of Weston; thence running east 75 rods thence south to the southeast corner McArthur’s addition to the town of Weston; thence west 65 rods; thence due north 80 rods; thence west 120 feet; thence due north to the place of beginning.” The officers are a mayor, six aldermen, recorder, and ex-officio collector, and a treasurer. The annual election occurs the first Monday in December. The charter was adopted at an election in November 1878.

The town’s officers for 1879-1880-1881

The officers elected in 1879 were: Mayor, T.J. Lucy; Recorder, D.P. Dwight; Treasurer L.S. Wood; Marshall, F.B. Prine; Aldermen, Charles McMorris; J. Proebstel, J. Bamford, John Hartman, G.W. Proebstel and W.R. Beckett. In 1880: Mayor, J.E. Jones; Recorder, A. Meacham; Treasurer, L.S. Wood; Marshal, D.D. Earp; Aldermen, Charles McMorris, H. McArthur, P.A. Worth, J.W. Miller, G.W. Proebstel and John Hartman. In 1881: Mayor, J.S. White; Recorder, W.R. Jones; Treasurer, L.S. Lacey; Marshal, H. Woods; Aldermen, J.W. Miller, Charles McMorris, H. McArthur, F.M. Pauly, Jacob Proebstel, P.A. Worthington.

Fraternal organizations in Weston

Weston Lodge No. 65, A.F. & A.M. Dispensation granted September 1, 19874. Charter dated June 1875. First officers and charter members: J.S. White, W.M.; George Hayes, S.W.; J.E. Jones, J.W.; John Hartman, T.; J.B. Pauly, S.; Porter Graham, S.D.; James Royse, J.D.; A.J. Cregler, Tyler. Present membership, forty-nine. Time of meeting, second and fourth Saturdays of each month. Officers for 1882: S.P. Sturgis, W.M; L.S. Wood, S.W.; S.A. John, J.W..; John Hartman, S.; J.S. White, T.; E. Ridenour, S.D. James Royse, J.D.; T.J. Allyn, Tyler.

Weston Lodge No. 58, I.O.O.F. Date of charter, July 1, 1876. Lodge organized July 20, 1876. Charter members and first officers: George B. Young, N.G.; Fred Peebler, V.G.; A.B. Hendricks, R.S.; William Russell, T.; J.I. Mansfield and G.W. Mansfield. Present membership, thirty-nine. Time of meeting every Thursday night. Officers for 1882: S.A. Barnes, N.G.; F.M. Johns, V.G.; A.L. Powers, S.; E.M. Purinton, T.

Weston Lodge No,. 71, A.O.U.W. Organized October 28, 1881, with twenty-seven members and the following officers: J.W. Rowland, P.M.W.; W.T. Williamson, M.W.; S.A. Barnes, F.; M.C. Brown, O.; F.M. Pauly, Rec’d.; H.B. Nelson, Rec’v.; G.W. Proebstel, Fin.; W.M. Lucas, G.; C.B. Proebstel, I.W.; W.J. Kirkland, O.W. Regular meeting every Tuesday evening. Membership, twenty-seven. Officers in October, 1882: W.T. Williamson, P.M.W.; S.A. Barnes, M.W.; W.H. McCoy, F.: M.C. Brown, O.; Receiver, Recorder and Financier same as last year.

From “Historic Sketches of Walla Walla, Whitman, Columbia, and Garfield Counties, Washington Territory and Umatilla County, Oregon,” by Frank T. Gilbert, Portland, Oregon 1882